The Temple

James Woodard

Read the story at NPR.org (you can listen as well) of James Woodard who spent 27 years in prison for a murder of which he has now been exonerated.  The amazing part of his story is his attitude about the years he spent in prison:

Woodard doesn’t know how a cell phone works and has no inkling of Macintosh versus PC. He’s neither bitter nor angry, and he will not agree that those years in prison were for naught.

“Time is what you make of it,” he says. “You’re living no matter where you are. I think I came out pretty good. I think I won. I think I’m a winner.”

He went into prison in 1981, the same year I graduated from college and I think he has a better attitude about the last 27 years than I do.  Something for the rest of us to think about.

May 5, 2008 - Posted by | Christian Living, Culture - Values

5 Comments »

  1. Wow! That is humbling for sure…

    Comment by Ellen | May 5, 2008 | Reply

  2. I don’t think humbling is the right word. It’s more like convicting…

    Comment by Ellen | May 5, 2008 | Reply

  3. Wow – that is a bit humbling…

    Comment by Lana G! | May 5, 2008 | Reply

  4. Okay – I’ll say convicting too!

    Comment by Lana G! | May 5, 2008 | Reply

  5. Amazing, makes me want to stop and just thank the Lord. Oh that we would all learn to really make the most of the time we have.

    Comment by Vera | May 6, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

