The Temple

Lord of Pots and Pans

A poem written in 1928 by a 19 year old girl n domestic service in England:

Lord of all pots and pans and things
Since I’ve no time to be
A saint by doing lovely things
Or watching late with Thee
Or dreaming in the sweet dawn light
Or storming Heaven’s gates,
Make me a saint by getting meals
And washing up the plates.

Although I must have Martha’s hands,
I have a Mary mind,
And when I black the boots and shoes,
Thy sandals, Lord, I find.
I think of how they trod the earth,
What time I scrub the floor:
Accept this meditation, Lord.
I haven’t time for more.

Warm all the kitchen with Thy love
And light it with Thy peace;
Forgive me all my worrying,
And make all grumbling cease.
Thou who didst love to give men food,
In room or by the sea,
Accept this service that I do–
I do it unto Thee

Whether, then, you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

1 Corinthians 10:31

ht: Thanks Jody Spiro

January 19, 2007 - Posted by | Christian Living, Christianity, Devotional

3 Comments »

  1. I heard this poem over 40 years ago and still remembered it today, it has been meaningful in my life. Thank you and God bless.

    Comment by betty c | September 12, 2007 | Reply

  2. thanks for visiting Betty – it is a great poem, and blessings back at you.

    Comment by Steve Bagdanov | September 18, 2007 | Reply

  3. My 78 year old aunt is in the hospital with congestive heart failure and recited this poem verbatim. It used to hang on a plaque in her kitchen many years ago but broke. I tried to find a replacement for her but was unsuccessful. I am fortunate to have found this poem online and I will mail it to her. Do you know where there is a website that I can purchase a plaque for her? Thank you.

    Comment by kathy | November 3, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

