The Temple

Don’t Believe Everything You Think

Don’t Believe Everything You Think: The 6 Basic Mistakes We Make in Thinking, by Thomas Kida

This book is recommended by the website skeptic.com and this is the description they give for it:

This enlightening book discusses how to recognize faulty thinking and develop the necessary skills to become a more effective problem solver. Author Thomas Kida identifies “the six-pack of problems” that leads many of us unconsciously to accept false ideas:

1. We prefer stories to statistics.
2. We seek to confirm, not to question, our ideas.
3. We rarely appreciate the role of chance and coincidence in shaping events.
4. We sometimes misperceive the world around us.
5. We tend to oversimplify our thinking.
6. Our memories are often inaccurate.

Kida vividly illustrates these tendencies with numerous examples that demonstrate how easily we can be fooled into believing something that isn’t true.

I have not read the book, but I am going to purchase it and read it. I think the list is great…I have seen these mistakes in my own and others thought processes. I might amend #3, but you get the drift. One of the skills most people ignore is “thinking about our thinking.” What are my criterion for determining truth? What processes do I go through in assessing my belief set? What is my world view?

Had more Christians worked on their “mind” I wouldn’t have to write about believing so many lies.

Technorati Tags: ,

October 31, 2006 - Posted by | Philosophy

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

